When you go to some religious places (at least I know of some temples in India) , you can be as much near to the god (I mean – the deity or idol or whatever) as you pay.

You get to go and stand at a 8-10m distance if you pay X, you can go and stand 3-4m distance for Y, and you can stand next to the idol or even touch it (may be my exaggeration) if you pay Z (Of course, X<Y<Z!)

No,  I don’t have any issues with that – not even sarcastic about that. The point I am arriving it is, I was reminded of some thing like that, when I saw an ITIL V3 foundation training Ad in internet today:

It is the in the lines of:

  • Training cost:  Rs3000/- (~ US$65) : Pass guarantee with 70% marks; Rs 5000/- for pass guarantee with 90% marks; Rs 7000/- for pass guarantee with 100% marks!!

And I assume 100% passing is given, since they say ‘passing guarantee’. Only difference is the guarantee on marks! But now, a guarantee for the level of marks as well!

Brilliant model- and I really wonder – how do they do that!! 😉 ( Yeah sure, I am sarcastic on this one!)

Even many other training organizations are offering 100% passing guarantees… ( I have written about my experiences with clients regarding to that earlier)

I am even ignoring those who give offers like ‘take one get one free’ etc.

Add on to that, there are sites like Certkiller – which do just that, they kill the certifications – or at least the value of it , by creating dumbs (er.. dumps)!

What am I doing here? I mean in the domain of ITIL training and consulting?

‘Quality of training is all fine – You have utility. But what warranty you are providing to clients? of course in terms of passing rate… None? Uh-oh, you have zero value. As you teach in your ITIL class, for creating value, you need both utility and warranty!’ 

I feel it is not far away that I (and others like me) will start facing such comments…

It is all about being clear about your target market. Whom are you targeting – a) those who want to ‘some how’ get the certification, or b) those who want to genuinely get trained (and get certified along).

As a professional in the domain, my inclination obviously is towards latter (b), but as you move into the business thinking, one can’t help wondering  – should we also have an option of addressing the first (a) market? Especially since there are clear indications of  steady shrinking of market b!

Difficult choice to make! Might be time for some innovation – even if it means moving focus into different line/model of business.

