The post I wrote about Events and Incidents is one of the most accessed on my blog these days! It seems to show the kind of interest/confusion/lack of clarity that exists among those terminologies.

There is an interesting (but to me looks another never ending) debate going regarding Application vs Service on the ITSkeptic site.  One interesting comment made by Rob England reads like this:

"service" is used in utterly different contexts to mean utterly different things. Should I be concerned that tennis uses it for something different as well?

I really liked that not just because I really laughed reading that; but have been the point I used to always ponder with English words and their dual (and multiple) meanings.

The point is English has different usage/meaning for many words in different contexts. And many frameworks like ITIL coins even different meanings for them 😦 I pointed to this in my above mentioned post in Event vs Incident. The actual meaning/usage in ITIL is different from a common man’s usage of those words – And that can only add to the whole confusion.

So Events and Incidents means some thing in real life – and some thing different in ITIL. Even at the risk of repeating, I really wonder how many global organizations used the word ‘Incident’ for Service interruptions before ITIL came in. Then there are others:

  • Incident and Problem ( People who knows ITIL will be confused in a different way that people who are new to it, on these words)
  • Availability (of the Service/infra/system) vs  Availability of resources/capabilities (which is in fact, Capacity in ITSM/ITIL)
  • Service!

There are many examples which can create confusions for a non-IT person:

  • ‘Application’ – in IT : vs  ‘Application’ in general (Job application etc),
  • ‘Delivery’ (Just imagine an Software engineer telling her Mother-in-law that ‘I have a delivery’ today!)
  • ‘Window’ (try clicking on the Window!)
  • ‘Code’ (for a common man, it looks like some secret key!)
  • Switch (Why does a simple switch cost so much?
  • Web (A tweet from @fakeitil summarized this : which says that ‘web is down since we lost some spiders !’)

We can just go on and on… Any body want to add any interesting ones?

I am not sure who should have addressed these ? IT, ITIL ( and other frameworks) or the English (er.. I mean the language!).

